Assistant Principals Recognized with Peer-Based Award

Twenty administrators have been named Region Assistant Principals of the Year by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). The peer-based award recognizes assistant principals for their commitment to student learning as evidenced by exceptional school leadership.

One of these educators will be selected as the 2024 National Assistant Principal of the Year for Texas. Supported by Horace Mann, the national award recognizes leaders who are committed to excellence through programs designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students; have firmly established community ties with parents and local business organizations; show strong educational leadership by setting high expectations for school staff and students; and exhibit exceptional leadership in a particular school program.

Honorees will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards Celebration Wednesday, June 12, at the Round Rock Kalahari. The 2024 TEPSA Region Assistant Principals of the Year are:

  • Lindsey Clayborn, Rising Scholars Academy, South Texas ISD, Region 1
  • Amanda Carriger, Skidmore-Tynan Elementary, Skidmore-Tynan ISD, Region 2
  • Leah Klemcke, Crain Elementary, Victoria ISD, Region 3
  • Marilyn Cooper, Adolphus Elementary, Lamar CISD, Region 4
  • Daisy Marino, China Elementary, Hardin-Jefferson ISD, Region 5
  • Shawna Peterson, Sealy Elementary in Sealy ISD, Region 6
  • Amber Wineinger, Hallsville Intermediate, Hallsville ISD, Region 7
  • Patricia Nash-Walker, New Boston Elementary, New Boston ISD, Region 8
  • Ashley Thomas, City View Elementary, City View ISD, Region 9
  • Crystal Dunlap, Eisenhower Elementary, Grand Prairie ISD, Region 10
  • Angela Cirino, Trinity Lakes Elementary, Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD, Region 11
  • Diana Guajardo, Kendrick Elementary, Waco ISD, Region 12
  • Marlayna Zachary, Jacob’s Well Elementary, Wimberly ISD, Region 13
  • Hillary Hernandez, Dyess Elementary, Abilene ISD, Region 14
  • Amy Morris, Northwest Elementary, Brownwood ISD, Region 15
  • Hilleary Drake, Lakeview Elementary, Canyon ISD, Region 16
  • Amy Estrada, Idalou Elementary, Idalou ISD, Region 17
  • Megan Caldwell, Parkway Elementary, Monahans-Wickett-Pyote ISD, Region 18
  • Angie Escobar, Paso Del Norte Fine Arts Academy, Socorro ISD, Region 19
  • Michael Joannou, Van Raub Elementary, Boerne ISD, Region 20

“These assistant principals play a critical role in ensuring student success on their campuses. We are proud to recognize their leadership and service to Texas PK-8 students and teachers,” said TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart.

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA), whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 6000 members who direct the activities of 3 million PK-8 school children. TEPSA is an affiliate of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

© Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association

Sign up to receive the latest news on Texas PK-8 school leadership.