2020-2021 TEPSA Student Leadership Award Recipients

Since 2018 TEPSA has recognized outstanding Texas student leadership teams for their service and contributions to their communities. This year, 33 teams met the rigorous criteria and demonstrated how they served their school and community during an unprecedented year.

Boerne ISD
Herff Elementary, Tanya Tate, Principal

Caddo Mills ISD
Griffis Elementary, Michelle Colwell, Principal
Lee Elementary, Deana Poteet, Principal

Coppell ISD
Lakeside Elementary, Gema Hall, Principal
Mockingbird Elementary, Laura Flynn, Principal

Desoto ISD
McCowan Fine Arts Academy, Kelli McWashington, Principal

Eagle Pass ISD
Lee Elementary, Blanca E. Muzquiz, Principal

Elgin ISD
Elgin Elementary, Sarah Juarez-Farias, Principal

El Paso ISD
Mitzi Bond Elementary, Rachel Villalobos, Principal

Fort Bend ISD
Highlands Elementary, Angela Dow, Principal

Fort Sam Houston ISD
Fort Sam Houston Elementary, Dr. Joseph Cerna, Principal

Fort Worth ISD
Dolores Huerta Elementary, Carla Coscia, Principal

Frenship ISD
Willow Bend Elementary, Jennifer Pierce, Principal 

Humble ISD
Oaks Elementary, Kerri Smith, Principal

Killeen ISD
Reeces Creek Elementary, Sara Watson, Principal

Lamar CISD
Dickinson Elementary, Dr. Karen Mumphord, Principal
Hubenak Elementary, Ernest Bainbridge, Principal
Manford Williams Elementary, Anitra Wilson, Principal
William Velasquez Elementary, Dr. Sherri Henry, Principal

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD
Mauriceville Elementary, Carie Broussard, Principal

McKinney ISD
Eddins Elementary, Sharon Havard, Principal
Walker Elementary, Melanie Raleeh, Principal
Wilmeth Elementary, Kristin Ellis, Principal

Northside ISD
Peggy Carnahan Elementary, Andi Sosa, Principal
Scobee Elementary, Jocelyn Dudney, Principal

Northwest ISD
Hughes Elementary, Jessica McDonald, Principal
Kay Granger Elementary, Michelle McAdams, Principal

Pasadena ISD
Teague Elementary, Valorie Morris, Principal

Pine Tree
Birch Elementary, Sharon Smith, Principal

Rockdale ISD
Rockdale Intermediate, Kathy Pelzel, Principal

Royse City
Herndon Elementary, Shanna Brown, Principal
Scott Elementary, Teresa Atkins, Principal

Waxahachie ISD
Northside Elementary, Stefani Foster, Principal

2021 ASCA School of Excellence Award Winners

Recognizing student councils that have demonstrated excellence in community service, student leadership, citizenship and school spirit. All winners are members of the American Student Council Association. For more information on joining, visit NAESP ASCA.

Caddo Mills ISD
Lee Elementary, Deana Poteet, Principal

Elgin ISD
Elgin Elementary, Sarah Juarez-Farias, Principal

Lewisville ISD
Donald STEM Academy, Heather Shorter, Principal
Liberty Elementary School, Tim Greenwell, Principal

Little Cypress ISD
Little Cypress Intermediate, Kayla Casey, Principal

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA), whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of 3 million PK-8 school children. TEPSA is an affiliate of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

© Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association

Sign up to receive the latest news on Texas
PK-8 school leadership.