General Information

Each TEPSA region may recognize one Region Assistant Principal of the Year. To be eligible to apply:

  • Applicant must be in his/her second year (minimum) as a TEPSA member.
  • Applicant must be an active assistant principal holding a lifetime mid-management, standard mid-management or standard principal certificate.

TEPSA Region Assistant Principals of the Year are eligible for consideration for the National Assistant Principal of the Year for Texas.


Contact your Region President

2023 Region Assistant Principals of the Year

Virginia Romero
San Benito CISD
Region 1

Yadira Cortez
Tuloso-Midway ISD
Region 2

Katherine Schuelke
Victoria ISD
Region 3

Tammy Sebesta
Tomball ISD
Region 4

Sommer Reynolds
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD
Region 5

Julie Brenner
Bryan ISD
Region 6

Angela Shine
Mineola ISD
Region 7

Andy McCarter
Texarkana ISD
Region 8

Synquis Lewis
Wichita Falls ISD
Region 9

Jaime Tracey
Van Alstyne ISD
Region 10

Jason Winans
Birdville ISD
Region 11

Deborah Barkley
Killeen ISD
Region 12

Shawn Maxwell
Region 13


Shannon Barnett
Abilene ISD
Region 14

Michele Beers
San Angelo ISD
Region 15

Sarah Ratliff
Canyon ISD
Region 16

Kim Moore
Frenship ISD
Region 17

Josie Mata
Ector County ISD
Region 18

Summer Steele
El Paso ISD
Region 19

Michelle Allen
Judson ISD
Region 20

Thank you TEPSA Partner

Horace Mann Logo

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA), whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 6000 members who direct the activities of 3 million PK-8 school children. TEPSA is an affiliate of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

© Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association

Sign up to receive the latest news on Texas
PK-8 school leadership.