General Information

Created to recognize TEPSA leaders who have given tremendous amounts of time, talents and gifts to TEPSA and to the profession, the TEPSAN At-Large is selected by the Executive Committee.


Debra Nelson
Retired Administrator, Frisco ISD

Past Award Recipients

  • 2017 Debra Nelson, Retired Administrator, Frisco ISD
  • 2016 Carolyn Solomon, TEPSA Student Council Director and Retired Principal
  • 2013 Mitzi McAfee, Galveston ISD
  • 2012 Pat Gilbert, Paris ISD
  • 2011 Karen Bessette, Retired Administrator, Randolph Field ISD
    Mark Terry, Retired Administrator, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA), whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PreK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of 3 million PreK-8 school children.

© Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association

Sign up to receive the latest news on Texas PreK-8 school leadership.