2020 Award Recipient

Raise Your Hand Texas

TEPSA President Julie Gauthier (center right) presents the Sandi Borden Tribute to Texas Children Award to Raise Your Hand Foundation President Shari Albright.


To recognize an individual(s), company or institution for outstanding service to Texas education based on:

  • History of distinguished or exceptional service to children and education in Texas schools
  • A record of leadership and sustained commitment to service through professional activities and involvement
  • Demonstrated a commitment to PK-8 youth, their education, health and welfare rather than to the institution

Nomination for Award

  • TEPSA member may submit the name of a Texas leader for consideration to the Board of Directors
  • Board of Directors submit nominations to the Executive Committee
  • The Executive Committee determines the award recipient

The criteria is flexible to accommodate a wide range of circumstances and situations and is not always given on an annual basis.This award is not presented as a political award nor is it given in expectation of something in return.


Past Honorees

  • 2019 – Reverend Charles Foster Johnson
  • 2018 – Senator Kel Selinger and Rep. Dan Huberty
  • 2016 – Speaker of the Texas House and District 121 Representative Joe Straus
  • 2015 – Jimmie Don Aycock
  • 2014 – Mary Keller, EdD
  • 2013 – Judge F. Scott McCown
  • 2012 Representative Scott Hochberg and Northside ISD Superintendent John Folks
  • 2011 – Susan Kellner
  • 2009 – Senator Judith Zaffirini and Representative Diane Patrick
  • 2008 – Mike Moses
  • 2007 – Carolyn Boyle
  • 2006 – H-E-B, Bill Ratliff, Sandi Borden

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA), whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of 3 million PK-8 school children. TEPSA is an affiliate of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

© Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association

Sign up to receive the latest news on Texas
PK-8 school leadership.