Member driven and member governed, TEPSA depends on volunteer leaders to ensure the association continues to positively represent Texas PreK-8 principals and supervisors.

Per the recommendation from the Strategic Plan Task Force and at the approval of the Board of Directors, TEPSA members are being asked to vote on recommended changes to the Board/governance structures in conjunction with the annual state office election.

Based on input from member surveys, focus groups and stakeholder interviews, the Strategic Plan Task Force participated in a series of exercises in which members identified existing challenges and opportunities within the current TEPSA governance structure. In culmination, the task force prepared the following recommendations for the TEPSA Board.

Determinations: Need to balance the length of service with ensuring necessary leadership experience to serve TEPSA effectively. Address committee and regional service opportunities to improve engagement and volunteer experience.

Solution: Change the composition of the Executive Committee to: President, President-Elect, Vice President (three-year progression elected annually) and two Members-at-Large (one elected annually).

1. The office of Vice President becomes the first year of a three-year presidential progression: Vice President, President-Elect, President.
2. One Member-at-Large is elected annually.
3. The Immediate Past President role is eliminated from the progression and formal role on the EC.
4. The NAESP Representative remains an ex-officio member of the Executive Committee.

Solution: Region boards consider aligning with the new TEPSA officer structure to have a three-year presidential progression (President, President-Elect and Vice President). The President and President-Elect would attend TEPSA summer leadership training. Beyond the presidential progressions, regions may add any additional officer positions necessary to serve their membership.

Solution: Standing Committee terms transition from four-year staggered terms to two-year staggered terms with the option to serve a second term.

Implementing these governance changes will necessitate a series of amendments to the TEPSA Bylaws and subsequent revisions of policies and procedures. This year, members are being asked to vote on the following recommendations:

1. Reducing the Board of Directors from 30 to 29 members. (Reflects the proposed EC structure.)
2. Restructuring elected state level officers as follows: President, President-Elect, Vice President and two Members at-Large.
3. Updating the language on term of office, removal and filling of vacancies, and powers and duties to align with the new EC structure.

This year, five state officer positions are up for election. Per TEPSA Bylaws, the Nominating Committee met in January to review the EC demographics and vet applicants for the office of Secretary. The committee recommended Travis Armstrong, Wichita Falls ISD, and Jim Calvin, Burleson ISD, move forward to run for Secretary. The committee also certified Nikol Youngberg, Flour Bluff ISD, to run uncontested as the NAESP Representative. TEPSA’s Special Committee on Elections verified that each person had completed the election requirements and approved the slate of candidates.

The election has been delayed this year in order to give the Governance Task Force time to complete their work. On March 21, all active TEPSA members will receive an email with instructions for voting in the election. The election runs March 21-April 3.

Proposed Bylaws Revisions
Side-By-Side Bylaws Comparison Chart
Phase-In Plan for TEPSA State Officers
Organizational Task Force Recommendations
Slate of Candidates for TEPSA State Office

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA), whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 6000 members who direct the activities of 3 million PK-8 school children. TEPSA is an affiliate of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

© Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association

Sign up to receive the latest news on Texas PK-8 school leadership.